Chemo Round 1 and Wig Bank Fun

19 11 2013
This is the view from my chemo recliner today.

This is the view from my chemo recliner today.

In preparation for today’s chemo treatment, I had to take a steroid last night with dinner. Whether it was the drug or my anxiety over the next ‘unknown’ I had a hard time falling asleep. As I lay awake, I began to draft this post in my head … I was going back to my creative writing assignment from Freshman Comp at UMSL. I was ready to describe my favorite season in sensory fashion from the warmth of the sun to the chill of the breeze and the crunch of the leaves colored like the embers of a dying fire under my feet … it was going to be beautiful. But as the picture above demonstrates, it is currently less than beautiful. The leaves are gone, and the only consolation is the beautiful clear blue sky contrasted by the tops of the deep evergreens in the distance.

That was a bit depressing, wasn’t it? NOW for the good news! This appointment began with David and me talking to Dr. Midathada. She reported that my EKG was great, and that my PET scan was ALL CLEAR! There is no longer concern that the cancer has moved or spread. Praise God!!!

And NOW for the fun … in preparation for the inevitable, losing my hair, David and I went to the American Cancer Society here in Lincoln and had some fun in their wig bank. We brought a couple home, but we also have an appointment with a professional fitter later this week to order a custom piece. So, without further ado, below are photos of those we tried on – some in seriousness, and some purely for fun. Let me know what you think!

image

#1 First wig … not so much.

image

#2 Another miss …

image

#3 Confirmation that long hair is NOT me!

image

#4 Sorry for the ┬ásour face … this one was towards the end … and I was getting tired.

image

#5 This is the frontrunner, according to facebook. I am only hesitant about the length.

image

#5 Same wig, different styling. I really like the coloring. This is one we brought home.

image

#6 Another popular one. I do like the color, maybe not the length, but we can get it cut!

image

#6 Same wig, different styling. We brought this one home too.

image

#7 I actually like this one more seeing it now than I did while we were ther

#8 David has always wanted to see me as a blond. I think he finally realizes that it just doesn't work for me. I do like the style/cut of this wig, so I may order it in a different color.

#8 David has always wanted to see me as a blond. I think he finally realizes that it just doesn’t work for me. I do like the style/cut of this wig, so I may order it in a different color

#9 David was looking for a glimpse of the future. ;o)

#9 David was looking for a glimpse of the future. ;o)


Actions

Information

2 responses

19 11 2013
Katie

I, too, like #5 the best. Then #7 and #8 equally! You don’t look bad as a blonde in my opinion, for what that’s worth! #2 isn’t bad either.

25 11 2013
Aunt Margi

I like #5 the best, with the second styling (hair parted on your left)
I also like #6, with the second styling

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

