Just for Fun #1

14 11 2013

I was not thrilled with the idea of another surgery … in fact, I always have this irrational anxiety that I will remain awake for the entire procedure, knowing and/or feeling what is being done to me … or that the procedure will at least begin before the anesthesia has actually set in. This anxiety was especially heightened today, since I was completely lucid going into the operating room … no pre-op specific area like my last two surgeries (2 weeks ago for this, and 2 years ago for my oopsie on roller skates).

Fortunately, on my way out of St. E’s (and on the way to meet my David for our delicious and long-anticipated lunch), I heard My Hope is in You by Aaron Schust. “The peace that passes understanding is my song” or in my case “prayer” was just what I needed as a reminder to turn over that fear/anxiety to God as I waited to drift into the “twilight state” for the procedure to begin, and all is well. There is some pain at the port site, but nothing unbearable, and nothing a little pain medication (considerably less than the last 2 surgeries) cannot handle.

And now, I will leave you – just for fun – with a short picture essay of David’s and my journey together in this life. We have been together 10+ years. He is the love of my life, and there is no one I would rather have by my side.

1988 - Playing at Animal House with Jaded Heart
1986 – David, age 15, playing at 
Animal House (NoCo) with Jaded Heart 
 
1988 - David, age 17, playing at a club on the STL Landing
1988 – David, age 17, playing at Mississippi Nights 
on Laclede’s Landing with Dirty Trixx
 
 1988, Sarah (10) Bobby (9) and Radie (5) before school (I'm the cutie on the right)
1988, Sarah (10) Bobby (9) and Radie (5) before school 
(I’m the cutie on the right
 

1992 - Sarah (14) with Rachel (9) & MaryB (2) ... taking brother to Boy Scout Camp.

1992 – Sarah (14) with Rachel (9) & MaryB (2) …
taking brother to Boy Scout Camp
1993 - David (22) in the Air National Guard
1993 – David (22) in the
Air National Guard
 
1994 - David, age 23, with daughter, Kirsten
1994 – David, age 23, with daughter, Kirsten  
 
1995 - Sarah, age 17, Nimue in Camelot
1995 – Sarah, age 17, Nimue in Camelot
 
2003 Fall/Winter - David and Sarah are engaged. Our [first?] pic together.
2003 Fall/Winter – David and Sarah are engaged. Our [first?] pic together.
Fall 2013 ... 10 years, and a few pounds, later ;o)

Fall 2013 … 10 years, and a few pounds, later ;o)

 

Actions

Information

One response

14 11 2013
Violet

The pink leggings will always, always be my favorite pic of David. Dirty Trixx? The 80s really were something, weren’t they? And sweet mother of pearl, Izzy looks EXACTLY like you did!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

